View Thread

Print Thread
Help needed please
circlevision
I am new to trying to find coastguard historical info. I have managed to trace ancestor to the cruiser Harriett out of Gourock; he then upsticks for Ireland bringing his family with him. I can find the two birth records for his children at Bunbeg and Inniscoo but nothing further about him and his life in Ireland.
His name was Archibald Mcnish (Mc Nish) originally from Campbeltown Argyll, 1861 vessels the Harriett Gourock, then a stint in Donegal, till around 1891 when he returned to Scotland.

If anyone can point me in the right direction much appreciated
jayne

crimea1854
Hi Jayne, and welcome to the Forum.

If you have not done so yet your best bet is to download his service record from the National Archives. There are two available, one pre the other post 1873. Neither will provide any family information, but they should provide clues as to where to look for further possible births of any children.

There are likely to be a number of ships listed prior to entry into the Coastguard Service, a check of their Description Books at the NA could also provide a clue as to when he married, because they include details of marital status, assuming of course that you don't already have this information!

http://www.nation...diaarray=*

Finally there are the ADM 175 records that can be downloaded for free from the NA, but again these provide no family information.

Martin

circlevision
Thank you so much for that link - where did I go wrong? I found the coast guard cruisier record prior to 1865 but couldnt find the man himself?
I have others in the family to trace as coast guards - so pls how do I get records against an individual name?

I already have the family info. so hopefully should be able to start building a picture of the life they led - is there any site which would carry descriptions of the coastguard locations in Donegal?

Is there any means to post back any info. to help others?