View Thread

Print Thread
circa 1887 Coast Guard uniform
jgairguns
Attached is a picture of my ggrand father in uniform. I am trying to determine what his rank or rating was. Can any one tell me from the uniform. He was stationed at Bray, Wicklow, Ireland. Are there any vintage maps or drawings of the Coast Guard Station at Bray from that time period? Thanks. I am at a loss and find it almost impossible to navigate the National Archive website. This is my first time posting at this forum. If the picture does not appear please let me know. John
jgairguns attached the following image:
thomas-harris-web.gif

crimea1854
Welcome to the Forum.

If you could provide a little more information such as a date and place of birth, and confirm your man's name I will see if I can find a service record for him at the National Archives - if he was serving in 1887 he will definitely have one!

Martin

jgairguns
Martin, that is wonderful and was a very quick reply. The name is Thomas Harris. He is my ggreat grandfather. I know he was there in December 1887 because it says so on my grand fathers birth certificate. My grand father, Charles Fredrick Harris, was born in Bray County Wicklow on December 23, 1887. His birth certificate lists his fathers (Thomas Harris) occupation as "Coast Guard". Any information about Thomas Harris or his family would be more then I have. I only last week confirmed his name. Thank you for anything you can find out. I looked at the National Archive website but could not fumble my way through it. John

crimea1854
John

I think I have found the family in the Irish Census' for both 1901 and 1911. Unfortunately neither census provided a place of birth for Thomas, other than England around 1854-55.

http://www.census...s/1610047/

http://www.census...e__/57511/