View Thread

Print Thread
coastguard in arklow
gina45
:)My great grandfather was a coastguard/boatman in arklow in 1901 as I found him in the census of that time and lived in the coastguard house in arklow.. the photograph is actully on this site.. by the time the next census in 1911 he had died and his wife and family living elsewhere in arklow.. but i cannot seem to find anything about him on the site at all.His name was Nicholas Brennan and his wife s name was Catherine. The only thing I found was the photograph of the house and a mention of him attending a funeral for other coastguards in wicklow town... also what is the difference between a coastguard and a boatman.. i am new to all of this so please forgive...

crimea1854
Hi Gina and welcome to the Forum.

I don't know if you have tried downloading his service record from the NA website, but I think this is your man - the birth place is correct, but maybe from what you already know you will be able to confirm if he was born in December 1856?

http://www.nation...ultcount=2

On your question re Coastguard/Boatman; Coastguard is a general term and Boatman a rank.

If you need any further help please do come back.

Regards

Martin

Gina, since posting my response to your question I have been doing a little more digging through the ADM 175 series of records. While my statement about the title 'Coastguard' might be true when first under Admiralty control in 1856, in the early 1900's the rank of Boatman was dropped and replaced by Coastguard.
Edited by crimea1854 on 26/11/2008 07:32

gina45